Vaux Fort

  
Built between 1881 and 1884 and then reinforced in 1888 with a special layer of concrete that would resist explosives, Fort Vaux was modernised between 1904 and 1906 with a 75mm gun turret, observation posts, three counterscarp galleries and two casemates, each one fitted with two 75mm guns.

It looked out over Ravin de Vaux and Woëvre plain and was flanked by neighbouring Fort Douaumont, Fort Vaux became the next target and for two months it resisted a daily onslaught of eight thousand shells.

But overcome with thirst – they had not had a drop to drink for two days -, Major Raynal and his men surrendered to the enemy on 7th June 1916.

On 2nd November 1916, the French soldiers recaptured the Fort.

A symbol of French heroism. Discover the epic story of Commandant Raynal and his last carrier pigeon.

Tour of the interior: Bourges pillbox, 75mm field guns, dovecote, telephone exchange. Show how a fort was organised, and gives a better understanding of the everyday life of the combatants.


 HOURS

Open every day :

February / March: 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
April : 10 a.m. – 5.30 p.m.
May / June : 10 a.m. – 6.30 p.m.
July / August : 10 a.m. – 7 p.m.
September : 10 a.m. – 5.30 p.m.
October / November : 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
December : 10.00 a.m. – 4.30 p.m.
Closed on december 18th 2013 evening


 Prices :

Adult : € 4
Child : € 2
Child (- 8 years) : free

benefits ”pass lorraine” : 
Adult « Pass Lorraine » : 3 €


 CONTACT

55400 VAUX
+ 33 (0)3 29 88 32 88
www.verdun-meuse.fr


 ACCES


Agrandir le plan

Return